Home Analysis The Connies 2018 are open for entries

The Connies 2018 are open for entries

Share on

The Connies 2018 are now open for entries. Supported by Videonet, The Connies are the definitive awards to champion innovation across the television and media ecosystem and include categories for ‘Video Technology Hero’, ‘Best TV/Video Service Update or Launch’ and ‘Contribution to User Experience – TV & Video’. There are awards for the media owners and media agencies of the year, among others. You can see the full list of categories below. Entries must be received by February 16th at the latest.

Winners last year included Freeview Australia, which took the ‘Grand Prix’ (winner of winners) prize for the international categories with its ‘One click live TV on the go’ mobile streaming service. YouView (from the UK) won the ‘Contribution to User Experience – TV & Video’ category for its Next Generation YouView, which involved upgrading the entire population of set-top boxes and embraced cloud technology across the whole platform and device base. Harmonic claimed first prize in the 2017 ‘Video Technology Hero’ category with Harmonic Cloud-Native VOS, a software-based media processing technology.

The Connies were created when the Videonet Connected TV Awards merged with the Connected Consumer Awards from Mediatel. They provide a showpiece for television platform providers, programmers and channel owners, online video services, video technology providers, advertising inventory owners, ad-tech developers, agencies and media researchers. They celebrate excellence and new thinking, highlighting the companies and people who are helping to shape the media industry. The awards will be presented during a prestigious lunch at The Banking Hall, London, on Tuesday May 8, 2018.

You can see the full list of 2017 winners and shortlisted companies here.

All the details you need about the 2018 awards, including how to enter, and the questions for each category, are at The Connies awards website here.


Awards categories for 2018

  • Best Research Project/Initiative
  • Best Use of Connected Data
  • Connected Campaign of the Year
  • Video Technology Hero (International Category)
  • Best TV/Video Service Update or Launch (International Category)
  • Contribution to User Experience – TV & Video (International Category)
  • Best User Experience – Beyond TV & Video
  • Best Use of Connected Technology
  • Connected Agency of the Year
  • Connected Media Owner of the Year

A Grand Prix award will also be selected from across the categories (excluding Agency and Media Owner of the Year categories).


Deadlines and cost of entering

The entry fee is £99 + VAT for entries received by our first deadline of Friday, February 9 (2018) or £150 + VAT for entries received on our ‘Late’ deadline of Friday, February 16 (2018).


How to enter

These awards are easy to enter; the submission forms are designed so you do not have to slave over them for hours. When you are ready to enter, there is a blue ‘Enter Now’ button that appears near the top of the awards microsite, in the menu options at the top of the page once you begin to scroll downwards, and also against each individual category.


Visit 2018 awards website.


The judges

Mark Cross, Director of Chartroom, is the chair of judging and is joined by:

For the International Categories (Video Technology Hero; Best TV/Video Service Update or Launch; Contribution to User Experience – TV & Video)

  • William Cooper, Founder and Chief Executive, informitv
  • Steven Hawley, Principal Analyst and Consultant, tvstrategies
  • Ian Nock, Managing Director and Founder, Fairmile West
  • Benjamin Schwarz, Consultant, CToic Consulting
  • John Moulding, Editor-in-Chief, Videonet.

For all other categories

  • Stacey Anklam, COO, autograph
  • Rob Ellison, Senior Comms Planning Manager UK&I, Unilever
  • Tracey Follows, Founder, Futuremade
  • Richard Marks, Director, Research the Media
  • David Pidgeon, Editor, Mediatel Newsline.

Share on