Home Analysis Shortlists announced for Videonet Connected TV Awards 2016

Shortlists announced for Videonet Connected TV Awards 2016

Share on

CTV-awards-logo-friday websized for Vnet copy 2.jpg

The shortlists for the Videonet Connected TV Awards 2016 have been announced. The final results will be unveiled during an awards ceremony at the end of Day One at Connected TV World Summit, on Wednesday March 16th. The shortlists are:

Video Technology Hero 
•    AirTies, Wireless Mesh Wi-Fi with Client Steering 
•    Ericsson, Ericsson MediaFirst cloud agnostic platform for next-generation Pay TV
•    Harmonic, Harmonic Electra X advanced media processor family with graphics, branding and playout
•    V-Nova, PERSEUS video processing technology.

The Data-driven TV Award 
•    Conviva, Intelligent Control Platform for QoE and consumer engagement management
•    Freesat & TVbeat, audience measurement solution to analyse real-time viewing data from Freesat consumers
•    Sky Media, Sky AdVance platform for connecting advertising campaigns across TV and online
•    ThinkAnalytics, Recommendation Engine for search and personalised recommendations in live and VOD.

Best TV/Video Service Update or Launch 
•    Eurosport, Eurosport Player re-launch including second screen complements for live coverage
•    FreeCast, FreeCast content discovery engine, bringing online media into an aggregated interactive guide 
•    Netgem, My TV for personalising TV and making live and recorded content available on multiscreen devices 
•    TVPlayer, TVPlayer Plus, the 25 channel entry-level Pay TV streaming service with Turner, UKTV etc.

Contribution to User Experience 
•    Accedo, Accedo VIA GO ready-to-deploy suite of applications and experiences for OTT services
•    NAGRA, intuiTV all-in-one-place television experience that blends live Pay TV, films and streaming services
•    Netgem, The Companion Screen for programme information and social interaction and fast ‘skip back’
•    Sky Media, Sky AdSmart for a proven reduction in channel switching when advertisements are targeted.

The Big Immersive TV Prize 
•    Ericsson, Research into HDR in HD/UHD broadcast chain and HDR proof-of-concept with Intelsat
•    Mediamelon, QBR technology for streaming video, reducing bandwidth requirements and video artifacts
•    NAGRA, Direct-to-TV Security, enabling 4K television sets to meet MovieLabs security requirements
•    NAGRA, intuiTV all-in-one-place television experience that blends live Pay TV, films and streaming services.

Ad-Tech Hero 
•    Channel 4, targeted online advertising with programmatic trading 
•    Dish Media Sales, world first programmatic real-time auctions for broadcast linear TV 
•    Sky Media, Sky AdSmart household-level addressable TV advertising system for linear TV 
•    Sky Media, Sky AdVance platform for connecting advertising campaigns across TV and online.

[The advertising category has its own judging panel. In this category, Videonet compiled a ‘long-list’ of submissions that the judges then voted on.]

At the awards ceremony we will also be awarding Special Citations for ‘Beating the Ad-blockers’, ’Beating the Live Events Pirates’ and ‘Making TV More Millennial-Friendly’. Judges were asked to highlight entries they think help the television market take on these pressing challenges. The citations are not restricted to shortlisted companies.

As a reminder, here are our judges for 2016.

All categories except advertising:

•    Ben Schwarz, CEO, CTOi Consulting

•    William Cooper, Founder and Chief Executive, informitv

•    Ian Nock, Managing Director, Fairmile West

•    Graham Lovelace, Director, Lovelace Consulting

•    Jay Chinnadorai, Managing Director, Sumtotal

•    David Mercer, VP, Principal Analyst, Digital Consumer Practice, Strategy Analytics

•    Steve Hawley, Principal Analyst & Consultant, tvstrategies

•    Harish Reddy, CEO, Acceleredge, LLC

•    Jack Davison, Managing Consultant, 3Vision

•    Matthieu de Chanville, Senior Principal, A.T. Kearney

•    Ned Wiley, Independent Consultant

•    Tom Thomas, Senior Security Consultant, Farncombe

•    Stephen Featham, Founder, Aspect 23 Limited

•    John Moulding, Editor, Videonet


Advertising category:

•    Simon Thomas, Global Director – Audiences Research, GroupM

•    Niko Muñoz, Hunter-in-Chief, Innovation Hunters Network

•    Stephen Adshead, Strategy Director, MTM London

•    Andrew Rosenman, President, Arise Communications Inc.

•    Jean-Paul Edwards, Strategy and Product Development Director EMEA, OMD

•    Ned Wiley, Independent Consultant

•   David Brennan, Founder, MEDIA NATIVE

You can read more about the Videonet Connected TV Awards here.


Share on