Home Analysis Advertising Spott wins ‘Ad-Tech Start-Up of the Year’ award at Future TV Advertising...

Spott wins ‘Ad-Tech Start-Up of the Year’ award at Future TV Advertising Forum

Share on

Spott, which makes visual content interactive and shoppable and wants to help media companies move from push marketing to pull marketing, has been named ‘2017 Ad-Tech Start-Up of the Year’ at Future TV Advertising Forum 2017. This global competition seeks out start-ups who are helping to make video/television advertising more efficient and more effective.

In a ‘Dragon’s Den’ style format, five companies presented to a panel of judges made up of leading TV and marketing executives. Spott can ensure that video viewers can easily find out what a favourite character is wearing or where they can buy a lamp that appears in a programme. Jonas De Cooman, Co-CEO & CMO at Spott, delivered the winning pitch.

The judges were: Stewart Easterbrook, Chairman at Media IQ; Gert Marien, Incubation Manager – TV, Advertising & Telco Cloud at Proximus; Dr Oliver Friedrich, Strategic Partner Lead Broadcast, EMEA at Google; Laurence Miall-d’Aout, VP Advanced Advertising at Liberty Global, Jim Kite, Global Head of Partnerships at Publicis Media; Philip Barton-Ancliffe, Commercial Development Controller at Sky; Rich Astley, Global Chief Product Officer at Finecast.

Speaking for the judges, Laurence Miall-d’Août declared: “Spott won by convincing the judges of their ability to scale and monetise their platform and demonstrating a clear business case. Jonas made an impressive presentation and handled questions from the judges impeccably, which really made a difference on the day.”

Justin Lebbon, Director at Mediatel Events, the company that produces Future TV Advertising Forum, said: “The shortlist was asked to demonstrate to the judges how their service or solution addressed a clear market need while presenting a clear business case for their solution. Spott gave a very compelling presentation and we congratulate them on winning the ‘Ad-tech Start-Up of the Year’ awards.”

Other shortlisted companies were Decidata, 605, R2B2, and TVbeat. You can read details on what these companies do here.

Photos: Jonas De Cooman at Spott presents to the judges at Future TV Advertising Forum, who then award him the debut prize.

Share on